Skip navigation

For this week’s project I decided to get up close and personal with my models. I chose to experiment with eye photography. The eyes are the first thing people look at when they look at people’s faces. Therefore getting up close I wanted to show how beautiful they really are. I took many different pictures of different people’s eyes so you could see that even if two people have brown yet one of them may have a different shade of brown.I also included studio and sunlight to show the different light effects you can use to make the eye look beautiful. I got my inspiration for this project from Brittany PriceĀ http://somethingepicallyamazing.wordpress.com/2010/01/29/final-black-and-white-w-a-twist/ because she did a blog that she turned the face black and white to enhance the eye color more. I tried that too, but I decided I only liked some black and white, so therefore there are a couple black and whites.

I really like this picture because I included both eyes in it. It is the only one I included both eyes in. I don’t know why I didn’t do more of both eyes, but I wish I would have.

I like this one because it is so sharp and you can really see the brown in the eye. I think that it would have been better if it was not so plain. I would like it better if the model I used was wearing eye shadow or something, but then again I guess it does show the person’s personality a little. You can tell because of the fact they are not wearing makeup that they don’t care what people think of them. That or they just didn’t have time in the morning.

I like this photo because of the angle that I took it at. It is more creative then the other pictures that are just straight on. I wish though that the exposure was better. It was super sunny though, and I couldn’t get my aperture right.

I like this eye because it is very sharp. I think the lighting of it is really good. And as well as the fact that you can sort of tell a little about this person because of the glitter eye shadow and the mascara. You can tell they are a girl and they like to stand out.

This is the one I decided to change to black and white because it’s the only one that I liked in black and white. I like it because the color her eye is looks better with black and white where as some other eyes look better with all colors.

This one is definitely my favorite because it is the sharpest and stands out the most. Although it is definitely kind of creepy like one of those eyes you would see popping through a peep whole in a horror movie. But I love it!

If I could go back and change anything I would take pictures of boys too. I noticed I only took pictures of girls. Also I would have varied the age in the eyes. Took pictures of all ages from infant to old.

13 Comments

  1. Nice sharp images and good lighting on them.
    The one above the black and white one is the only one that I can see the focus is off a little. Not by much, just a little.

    Great sharpness in these.

  2. I thought these pictures had good lighting and focus and the exposure was good. I liked the angles where they were close up and I think that for a few of the pictures you could have tried different distances and angles of the eyes. I also agree with your comment of trying to shoot all different eyes, ages of the people, and angles. The sharpness and lighting was also great in these pictures. Nice job !

  3. I really like the ones with the eyes because you really never see a close up of eyes. I believe these are the best pictures she took. I believe this because the other ones are always the same portrait images with people.

  4. I really like all of the photos they are all very good. The black and white one is a little out of focus but it is still a good photo. I think that maybe you should have include both eyes in a couple of them. I like all the lighting on these photos. These photos are very sharp and they make for a great photo.

  5. Hey, nice photos. I don’t usually like eye photos: I think they’re overdone and a bit cliche, but I do like these. They’re different than other eye photos how they’re all straight on staring at the camera. Some of these are straight on, but the ones I really like are the ones where the eye is looking away from the camera, or tilted, or whatever. It’s super neat. You took a cliche photo subject and took it with a twist. Good job.

  6. I like your photos of the eyes. The photos of the eyes are nice and sharp I really like the one thats photoshopped. I like how its all grey and the eye is hazel or what ever shade of green it is it just looks GREAT. I also like the one under the black and white one it is nice clear and easy to look at. I think you did a really good job shooting the eyes!

  7. I looovvveee these pictures! They are so rad. I’ve always loved the look of a close up on peoples eyes. My favorite picture is the one with the very brown eye with no make up on or whatever. I like how it isn’t looking straight into the camera and you kinda wonder what he or she is looking at. Also the reflection in their eyes in all of these are really cool. I love ALL your photos.

  8. I really like these photos of the eye. It gives good detail and you can see a lot about the eye. I think the sharpness of your photos are really good and nice. On one of them I think the white balance isn’t set right. But you take good photos I like your work. I also liked the angles you shot these, it makes the photo have more detail.

  9. I think all of these eye pictures are very sharp and in focus. The color is awesome and I love how close up you they are. The eye colors really pop because that is what you focus on when you look at the pictures. There’s is nothing I would change about these photos.

  10. I like these pictures because I really like eyes in pictures because they are really pretty and you can see there personality in their eyes because it they are angry, sad, or happy you can always tell by looking at their eyes. And i like these pictures because some are looking at the camera but others aren’t and i like the variety in the pictures.

  11. These photos are amazing! I really like how something simple, like eyes, can make a picture look really awesome. I also like the angle the pictures are taken at and some of the detail. Good job with what your doing!

  12. My favorite picture is the ones of the eyes. They are really simple pictures that are really pretty. In one of the eye pictures there is a big white spot on the eye that definitely takes away from the picture. But the overall sharpness and color of these photos is good.

  13. wow theses are some great pictures. i really like the idea, vary nice clarity with the photos. the colors in theses photos are amazing. keep up the good work.


Leave a comment